The Dead Wander in the Desert by Rollan Seisenbayev

The Dead Wander in the Desert by Rollan Seisenbayev

Unfolding on the vast grasslands of the steppes of Kazakhstan before its independence from the USSR, this haunting novel limns the struggles of the world through the eyes of Nasyr, a simple fisherman and village elder, and his resolute son, Kakharman. Both father and son confront the terrible future that is coming to the poisoned Aral Sea.

Once the fourth-largest lake on earth, it is now an impending environmental catastrophe. Starved of water by grand Soviet agricultural schemes, the sea is drying out, and the land around it is turning into a salt desert. The livelihood of the fishermen who live on its shores is collapsing. Vanishing with the water is a whole way of life. Despite overwhelming odds, Kakharman wages a battle against an indifferent bureaucracy, while Nasyr looks to Allah for guidance. Without the support of neighbors, who have lost hope, Kakharman must travail alone to rescue what literally gives them life. Even as the consequences mount, his quixotic fight proves more daunting. Even the sea itself seems to roil with distress.

In the face of despair, the unwavering convictions of these soulful individuals offer hope. Rollan Seisenbayev takes readers on a cautionary, elegiac, and deeply compassionate journey into what it means to be human—to care and to fight ag

The Incident Pit by Chris Leicester

The Incident Pit by Chris LeicesterEnter for the chance to win one of 100 first edition copies of The Incident Pit by Chris Leicester

The deepest part of the flooded old quarry has never been reached, and so the obsession to conquer it is fathomless. But with so many lives expended trying, is it bravery or sheer madness to attempt it? Despite Fiona’s objections, Martin still wants to go, even if this means diving on his own. He plans his dive – but what really lies at the bottom of the Incident Pit?

The book is an adaptation of Leicester’s hit play of the same name which is currently touring the UK.

We would be very grateful if you could post a review of the book.

Their Last Breath by Sibel Hodge

Their Last Breath by Sibel HodgeDetective Carter knows all about torture – but he’s never known a case as dark as this one.

The Six…

An abandoned building goes up in flames. Six women are chained inside and left to die – the truth is left to burn with them. Only one piece of evidence remains, but will it be enough to find their killer?

The Detective…

Retired detective Warren Carter has been suffocated by grief for his wife and is looking for a new start. But when he gets a call that cuts to the heart of the force, investigating a corrupt police officer, he has to accept. This time, though, he’s going to have to face his demons and work out who to trust when the truth is guarded by his own colleagues.

The Bad Cop…

It was supposed to be the perfect crime: they knew the system well enough to beat it and get away with murder. But they didn’t know Detective Carter, and how far a man will go when he has nothing left to lose…

Their Last Breath is the gripping new thriller perfect for fans of Line of Duty, from the bestselling author of Duplicity and Into The Darkness.

Santa's Story by Will Hillenbrand

Santa's Story by Will HillenbrandSanta is ready to leave on Christmas Eve, but he can’t find the reindeer anywhere. Dasher is busy dashing, Donner is dozing, and Cupid is crooning. It isn’t until Santa remembers their annual tradition—reading a Christmas story together—that the reindeer are ready.

Reindeer merriment abounds in this charming yuletide tale about honoring the celebration of holiday customs with those you love.

A Fist or a Heart by Kristín Eiríksdóttir

A Fist or a Heart by Kristín EiríksdóttirThe past returns with a fury for a woman coming to terms with her life in this award-winning novel by an acclaimed Icelandic author making her English-language debut.

Elín Jónsdóttir lives an isolated existence in Reykjavík, Iceland, making props and prosthetics for theatrical productions and Nordic crime flicks. In her early seventies, she has recently become fascinated with another loner, Ellen Álfsdóttir, a sensitive young playwright and illegitimate daughter of a famous writer. The girl has aroused maternal feelings in Elín, but she has also stirred discomfiting memories long packed away. Because their paths have crossed before. One doesn’t remember. The other is about to forget.

Soon they’ll discover all they have in common: difficult childhoods, trauma, and being outliers who have found space to breathe in creative expression. Yet the more Elín tries to connect with the young woman and unbox painful memories, the more tenuous her grasp on reality becomes.

Winner of the Icelandic Literary Prize, A Fist or a Heart is a gripping, artfully interwoven novel of power, secrets, and isolation by one of the most bracing and original voices of the author’s generation.

Archangel One by Evan Currie

Archangel One by Evan CurrieAn elite squadron must go undercover behind enemy lines in this thrilling new space adventure from the author of the Odyssey One series.

Humanity has reached an uneasy truce with the Empire—but unless the allies bring the fight to the enemy, extinction is all but assured. In preparation for the inevitable next war, Commander Stephen Michaels is at the helm of the Archangel Squadron, and his orders are simple: go rogue.

Disguised as mercenaries, Commander Michaels and the Archangels seek valuable intelligence on their imposing foe. Their mission takes them deep into uncharted territory, where they make inroads with the Empire, fiercely guarding their true identities and purpose. Fighting for the enemy goes against everything they stand for, but these are desperate times.

As their deception increases, so does the risk. With the Empire’s deadliest secrets within reach, Commander Michaels and the Archangels accept a mission that will take them even deeper into the Imperial fold. They know all too well that one wrong step won’t just end their lives—it could end their entire civilization.

Are You Ready? by Jackie Cantoni

Are You Ready? by Jackie CantoniThe only thing standing between you and your dream is you. The greatest gift you can give yourself and others is to simply be the best version of you. People struggle with the fear of becoming the best version of themselves. That’s okay because most people have never been taught the basic strategies to believe in themselves.

New from AWARD-WINNING MENTOR, Jackie Cantoni. She takes you back to basics. For some reason, we have internal beliefs that manifest as self-doubt that stop us before we even start. We think we do not “deserve” our goal. We fill our mind with why something will not work before even trying! “You can handle what life gives you . . . why not handle success?”

Life has gotten so busy, people are dashing from one activity to the next losing focus on their relationships, health, and themselves. And at times feel exhausted from the struggle.

This book is a nudge to get started becoming your best, healthiest self.

Jackie Cantoni is an award-winning mentor, author, and dynamic speaker. Jackie received the Remarkable Women in Business award and co-founded two non-profits to help special needs children and inner-city youth. Her proven strategies have been transforming lives for more than two decades. Jackie has two sons and lives in Florida with her husband, Jim Cantoni, Founder of Realizing Dreams. Together they co-authored two children’s books, "I Love You Two” and "Give a Hug . . . Get a Hug".

Happy Campers by Audrey Monke

Happy Campers by Audrey Monke“Happy Campers is a joyful and wise parenting book. Drawing on her lifetime of experience as a camper, camp counselor and camp director, Audrey Monke shows us what is most important in the lives of children. She then takes the next step and teaches parents how they can recreate the magic of camp in their own homes. I have never read a more optimistic and well-grounded guide to parenting.”
-Michael G. Thompson, Ph.D., best-selling author of Raising Cain

Enter for a chance to win one of five signed copies of Happy Campers: 9 Summer Camp Secrets for Raising Kids Who Become Thriving Adults by Audrey Monke.

Why are kids more optimistic, resilient, independent, and competent
after just a few weeks at summer camp?

Why do they feel less depressed, anxious, and disconnected at camp than they do anywhere else?

Why are so many campers heartbroken when it’s time to go home?

Happy Campers introduces a framework of intentional strategies to help parents create the same kind of transformational culture that kids experience at camp. Instead of raising a generation of kids who are overwhelmed, anxious, depressed, and unable to function as independent and responsible adults, parents can create an environment at home that promotes the growth of important character traits and social skills that kids need in order to have meaningful and successful lives.