The Mammoth Book of 20th Century Science Fiction, Volume I

The Mammoth Book of 20th Century Science Fiction, Volume I So Says David G Hartwell In His Introduction To The Science Fiction Century, An Anthology Spanning A Century Of Sf Writing, From Its Birth In The 1890 S To The Future It Predicted He S Compiled The Mother Of All Definitive Anthologies, Guaranteed To Change Not Only The Way The Field Views Itself But Also The Way The Rest Of Literature Views The Field.Introduction 2003 Essay By David G HartwellBeam Us Home 1969 Story By James Tiptree JrThe Music Master Of Babylon 1954 Novelette By Edgar PangbornHot Planet 1963 Story By Hal ClementThe Hounds Of Tindalos 1929 Story By Frank Belknap LongThe Angel Of Violence 1978 Story By Adam Wisniewski SnergNobody Bothers Gus 1955 Story By Algis Budrys Paul Janvier As Easy As ABC 1912 Novelette By Rudyard KiplingGinungagap 1980 Novelette By Michael SwanwickMinister Without Portfolio 1952 Story By Mildred ClingermanTime In Advance 1956 Novelette By William TennGood Night, Sophie 1973 Novelette By Lino Aldani Buonanotte Sofia 1963 Fire Watch Time Travel 1982 Novelette By Connie WillisGoat Song 1972 Novelette By Poul AndersonThe Scarlet Plague 1912 Novella By Jack London Repent, Harlequin Said The Ticktockman 1965 Story By Harlan EllisonBlood S A Rover 1952 Novella By Chad OliverSail The Tide Of Mourning Bentfin Boomers 1975 Story By Richard A LupoffGreat Work Of Time 1989 Novella By John CrowleyThe Dimple In Draco 1967 Story By R.S Richardson Philip Latham Consider Her Ways 1956 Novella By John WyndhamSomething Ending 1973 Story By Eddy C BertinSundance 1969 Story By Robert SilverbergSwarm ShaperMechanist 1982 Novelette By Bruce Sterling

David Geddes Hartwell was an American editor of science fiction and fantasy He worked for Signet 1971 1973 , Berkley Putnam 1973 1978 , Pocket where he founded the Timescape imprint, 1978 1983, and created the Pocket Books Star Trek publishing line , and Tor where he spearheaded Tor s Canadian publishing initiative, and was also influential in bringing many Australian writers to the US market

➵ The Mammoth Book of 20th Century Science Fiction, Volume I  Download ➾ Author David G. Hartwell –
  • Paperback
  • 586 pages
  • The Mammoth Book of 20th Century Science Fiction, Volume I
  • David G. Hartwell
  • English
  • 17 January 2018
  • 9781841195131

10 thoughts on “The Mammoth Book of 20th Century Science Fiction, Volume I

  1. Ahimsa says:

    As with any anthology, there are some good stories and some not so good That said, there were quite a few excellent stories here that I hadn t encountered before The only ones I d already read were Hounds of Tindalos and Repent Harlequin The small bit of historical context and commentary that editor David Hartwell provided was most welcome.Stories I enjoyed Nobody Bothers Gus, Consider Her Ways Time in Advance, and Goodnight Sophie These were each excellent in their own way, and worth reading for any spec fic fan.For my money, Fire Watch, Music Master of Babylon and Minister without Portfolio were weak sauce, not worthy of inclusion But that s the beauty of anthologies everyone will have their favorites and least favorites.This is a great anthology I ll keep my eyes out for the companion ...

  2. Steve Clark says:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *