Shades of Milk and Honey (Glamourist Histories, #1)



Shades of Milk and Honey (Glamourist Histories, #1) The Fantasy Novel You Ve Always Wished Jane Austen Had Written Shades Of Milk And Honeyis Exactly What We Could Expect From Jane Austen If She Had Been A Fantasy Writer Pride And Prejudice Meets Jonathan Strange Mr Norrell It Is An Intimate Portrait Of A Woman, Jane, And Her Quest For Love In A World Where The Manipulation Of Glamour Is Considered An Essential Skill For A Lady Of Quality.Jane And Her Sister Melody Vie For The Attentions Of Eligible Men, And While Jane S Skill With Glamour Is Remarkable, It Is Her Sister Who Is Fair Of Face When Jane Realizes That One Of Melody S Suitors Is Set On Taking Advantage Of Her Sister For The Sake Of Her Dowry, She Pushes Her Skills To The Limit Of What Her Body Can Withstand In Order To Set Things Right And, In The Process, Accidentally Wanders Into A Love Story Of Her Own.

Is a well-known author, some of his books are a fascination for readers like in the Shades of Milk and Honey (Glamourist Histories, #1) book, this is one of the most wanted Mary Robinette Kowal author readers around the world.

➼ Shades of Milk and Honey (Glamourist Histories, #1)  Free ➲ Author Mary Robinette Kowal – Millionapartments.us
  • ebook
  • 208 pages
  • Shades of Milk and Honey (Glamourist Histories, #1)
  • Mary Robinette Kowal
  • English
  • 20 November 2017
  • 1429963360

10 thoughts on “Shades of Milk and Honey (Glamourist Histories, #1)

  1. Khanh, first of her name, mother of bunnies says:

    This book is like Jane Austen s works in the way that a genetically modified out of season greenhouse tomato is like a cherry Sure, they re technically both classified as fruits They re red They re juicy looking They re attractive The difference is that when you bite into said GMO tomato, it tastes like mealy, mushy, tasteless crap This book is the equivalent of a limp, tasteless slice of tomato on a McDonalds hamburger Why bother You re just going to pick it off and throw it away anywa This book is like Jane Austen s works in the way that a genetically modified out of season greenhouse tomato is like a cherry Sure, they re technically both classified as fruits They re red They re juicy looking They re attractive The difference is that when you bite into said GMO tomato, it tastes like mealy, mushy, tasteless crap This book is the equivalent of a limp, tasteless slice of tomato on a McDonalds hamburger Why bother You re just going to pick it off and throw it away anyway Or maybe that s just me I hate raw tomatoes.This book tries way too hard The main character is a doormat Her love interest is not so much Darcy as he i...

  2. Tadiana ✩Night Owl☽ says:

    I love Jane Austen and I love fantasy, so you would think this book, which mixes the two, would be right up my alley, especially since it was written by a Hugo Award winning author Can t miss and yet, somehow, it does Superficially it s a very Austenesque tale, but it lacks the wit, charm and complexity of Austen Jane is the plain older sister with all the talent in the family art, music and magic But at age 28, she feels like she s fated to become a spinster, and she spends most of the bo I love Jane Austen and I love fantasy, so you would think this book, which mixes the two, would be right up my alley, especially since it was written by a...

  3. Eh?Eh! says:

    Thank you, brian tanabe Have you ever slapped someone, good and hard I can still remember the one and only time I did, the anger boiling up and over, the near involuntary windup of the arm and spring loaded swing through, the crack of the hand on the offender s cheek, the numb and then sting in the palm, the blipping rush of incredible satisfaction instantaneously followed by a gushing of fear and guilt Yeah It felt good and solid before the last fear and guilt part I still remember all that Thank you, brian tanabe Have you ever slapped someone, good and hard I can still remember the one and only time I did, the anger boiling up and over, the near involuntary windup of the arm and spring loaded swing through, the crack of the hand on the offender s cheek, the numb and then sting in the palm, the blipping rush of incredible satisfaction instantaneously followed by a gushing of fear and guilt Yeah It felt good and solid before the last fear and guilt part I still remember all that from when I slapped the little brat who was bigger than me in preschool, when I was four This book brought it all back, because I wanted to slap every one of the characters Idiots All of them I think this is a YA novel, in particular because of the large and well spaced font which seems to be characteristic of books for youths Is this a false impression It s like how crayons text get slimmer smaller as you get o...

  4. Grace says:

    This was an incredibly frustrating book The charm of Austen lies in the style of writing light, witty, insightful, elegant, and able to skewer Regency life at a moment s notice And while Shades of Milk and Honey makes sure to pack in plenty of Regency manners and swooning, the writing style is so jarring that I ended up reading passages aloud to other people, just to confirm that they really did make no damn sense.The author reuses words at an amazing pace frequently the same word is rep This was an incredibly frustrating book The charm of Austen lies in the style of writing light, witty, insightful, elegant, and able to skewer Regency life at a moment s notice And while Shades of Milk and Honey makes sure to pack in plenty of Regency manners and swooning, the writing style is so jarring that I ended up reading passages aloud to other people, just to confirm that they really did make no damn sense.The author reuses words at an amazing pace frequently the same word is repeated in back to back sentences, sometimes three or four times in a paragraph Worse, sometimes the author uses words she clearly doesn t understand droll , for instance, is applied to a completely humourless character multiple times, and appears to have been confused with a word that means curt or short instead of amusing Sometimes she uses the archaic spelling of a word chuse , sometimes she uses the modern spelling Occasionally, she ll use a word that is archaic and proceeds to misuse it nuncheon...

  5. Felicia says:

    So there were many nice things in this book The Austin esque plot was interesting, and the main character and her relationship with her sister was layered, I really think the character was well drawn and the best thing about the book Her POV as the plain sister was written from a very real place.I guess I just ached for a bitcomplexity, with the plot and romance and the world building There s some VERY interesting magic conceits here, and I just wanted a bigger scope I think the au So there were many nice things in this book The Austin esque plot was interesting, and the main character and her relationship with her sister ...

  6. Sherwood Smith says:

    This very talented writer has written a Regency romance that features a few of Jane Austen s spellings, adding in a truly nifty magical system Unfortunately, the magic seems little integrated with the world, having almost no impact on the culture The comparison with Jane Austen might sell books, but that s also kind of a high bar This story feelslike a Regency romance, without much of Austenesque irony or complication of character on the other hand, it is not a retread of Georgette Hey This very talented writer has written a Regency romance that features a few of Jane Austen s spellings, adding in a truly nifty magical system Unfortunately, the magic seems little integrated with the world, having almost no impact on the culture The comparison with Jane Austen might sell books, but that s also kind of a high bar This story feelslike a Regency romance, without much of Austenesque irony or complication of character on the other hand, it is not a retread of Georgette Heyer, which gains major points for m...

  7. Bradley says:

    Romance and Regency go hand in hand, but then, so does Art.All the most talented ladies are skilled in the art of subterfuge and seeming, are they not Well, not Jane She s conflicted about using Glamour and refuses to make herself seempretty than she is, while also being rathertalented than the rest of her family Sure, its a common thing to know and use Glamour in the Regency era Didn t you know Magic is real, and no only can you create wonderful murals and play wonderful music w Romance and Regency go hand in hand, but then, so does Art.All the most talented ladies are skilled in the art of subterfuge and seeming, are they not Well, not Jane She s conflicted about using Glamour and refuses to make herself seempretty than she is, while also being rathertalented than the rest of her family Sure, its a common thing to know and use Glamour in the Regency era Didn t you know Magic is real, and no only can you create wonderful murals and play wonderful music without the gross aids of base paints or t...

  8. Samantha says:

    4.5 stars Perfect for fans of Jane Austen that want the added flair of magic The characters fill the typical Austen tropes, with their own spin A lovely story for any fan of the Regency period.

  9. Lightreads says:

    Good God, I resent this book so much for not being awesome Georgette Heyer put me in the mood for another regency, and combine that with fantasy Sold.I want a refund The Heyer danced along, sparkly with charm this book plodded, leaving me with an overwhelming sense of claustrophobia and boredom at the shallowness and banality and insipidity of well to do country life The conversation didn t sparkle wittily, it clunked And the heroine was frankly too stupid to keep breathing.Mostly though, Good God, I resent this book so much for not being awesome Georgette Heyer put me in the mood for another regency, and combine that with fanta...

  10. Frankie Lovely says:

    3 starsReview to comeThis was a decent regency romance With no smut.A few things I think could be improved upon But overall a solid read.I would really like to see the magic elements of this become a lotprominent later in the series though as the magic was very much low key here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *